Madeleine Milburn Agency News Roundup

C.L.Taylor and Mel Sherratt continue to go from strength to strength with their recently published titles, recording fantastic sales and placing highly on Bestseller lists.

Taylor’s THE LIE (Harper Collins / Avon) spent its fourth straight week in the Sunday Times Bestseller chart, having reached a high point of 5th. Selling over 50,000 copies in all formats to date, THE LIE was also number #2 on the Kindle charts – only behind THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN – and reached number #1 in the iBooks charts!

THE LIE by C.L. Taylor 1 Follow the Leader by Mel Sherratt

Meanwhile, Mel Sheratt’s FOLLOW THE LEADER (Thomas and Mercer) reached the top ten of the Amazon Kindle charts, as well as no. #2 in both Amazon’s Police Procedurals and Mysteries, Thrillers and Suspense categories.

ABoyCalledHope_FINALThe Dark Inside by Rupert Wallis - paperback cover

On the awards front, MMLA clients were nominated in all three age categories in the Leeds Book Awards 2015. Lara Williamson’s A BOY CALLED HOPE (Usborne) was shortlisted in the 9-11 category, Rupert Wallis’ THE DARK INSIDE (Simon & Schuster) was nominated in the 11-14 category and Holly Bourne’s THE MANIFESTO ON HOW TO BE INTERESTING (Usborne) was nominated in the 14-16 category. Congratulations to all three amazing authors, and to the winners, Jane Elson, Kim Slater and Bali Rai!

The Manifesto on How to Be Interesting by Holly Bourne - UK cover

In more awards news, Radhika Sanghani, author of the laugh-out-loud funny VIRGIN (Harlequin) has won a gold award for her work with the Daily Telegraph in MHP Communication’s 30 to Watch, an annual recognition of the best up-and-coming media talent in the country.

VIRGIN by Radhika Sanghani

Finally, anticipation is building for Matt Ralphs’ fantastic debut, FIRE GIRL. In a glowing review, The Bookseller called it a ‘stand out: crammed with magic, danger and adventure and cliffhangers aplenty ’. Look out for FIRE GIRL from Macmillan in August!

Lara Willamson’s A BOY CALLED HOPE wins the Hillingdon Secondary Book of the Year award.

Lara Willamson’s bold and hilarious A BOY CALLED HOPE has won the Hillingdon Secondary Book of the Year award.

ABoyCalledHope_FINAL

Aimed at young people in year seven, twelve Hillingdon schools gave presentations on their favourite books before the winning novel was announced.

Other novels on the shortlist included WARP by Eoin Colfer, KNIGHTLEY AND SON by Rowan Gavin, AL CAPONE DOES MY HOMEWORK by Gennifer Choldenke, DROWNED MAIDEN’S HAIR by Laura Amy Schlitz and BRIGHTLING by Rebecca Lisle.

A BOY CALLED HOPE is published by Usborne in the UK, and has sold in Korea, Italy, Portugal and Turkey.

Rupert Wallis shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award

Branford Boase award Rupert Wallis

Rupert Wallis’ mesmerising Young Adult novel, The Dark Inside, has been shortlisted for the prestigious Branford Boase Award

 The Dark Inside by Rupert Wallis - paperback cover

The award is given jointly to the author and editor of the most outstanding debut novel for children. The winner will be announced on the 9th July 2015.

 Please follow this link for full coverage in The Bookseller: http://www.thebookseller.com/news/pratt-and-green-branford-boase-shortlist

The shortlist of seven includes Sally Green’s Half Bad and Clare Furniss’ The Year of the Rat.  We are all very proud of Rupert Wallis at the MM Agency.

The Dark Inside - Branford Boase Award

 Simon & Schuster published The Dark Inside in the UK in 2014 to great critical acclaim.  Rights have been sold to De Agostini in Italy where it was shortlisted for the prestigious Andersen Prize, and to Novo Conceito in Brazil.

THE LIE at No.5 on the Sunday Times Bestseller List!

THE LIE by C.L. Taylor

Exceptional sales of C.L. Taylor’s The Lie have pushed it up to No.5 on The Sunday Times Bestseller List!!  It has been an outstanding week of sales. We are all absolutely thrilled at the MM agency.

Ebook sales are excellent too, and The Lie is currently No. 10 on the overall Amazon Kindle charts and No.2, 2 and 3, in Murder, Suspense and Thrillers respectively.

Buy your very own copy of The Lie

Dave Lowe on Roald Dahl in The Guardian

Matilda by Roald Dahl    Roald Dahl George's Marvelous Medicine

‘Reading Roald Dahl’s deliciously dark humour as a kid gave Squirrel Boy author Dave Lowe the determination to write his own funny books – and the reassurance that even a master storyteller doesn’t find it easy’

Read the full feature by Dave Lowe about Roald Dahl’s influence on his own work in The Guardian.  Dave also comments on the challenges of being a writer and says:

‘I was relieved to find out that Roald Dahl struggled with these things, too, constantly editing and rewriting each book until it was as polished as it could possibly be. There’s something comforting about this: that even the master storyteller didn’t find it easy.’

The first two books in Dave’s Squirrel Boy series (Phoenix Yard) are available to buy on the Guardian website.

SQUIRREL BOY VS THE SQUIRREL HUNTER    Squirrel Boy vs The Bogeyman UK cover

C.L. Taylor: a Sunday Times Bestseller

We are absolutely delighted with the news that C.L. Taylor’s THE LIE has gone straight into

** The Sunday Times Bestseller List at No.11 **

HarperCollins / Avon published in the UK last Thursday, and with just part-week sales, THE LIE is a firm bestseller competing with brand names such as Stephen King, Lee Child and James Patterson.

We are all absolutely thrilled with this news at the MM agency.

 THE LIE by C.L. Taylor

THE LIE is on tour

THE LIE blog tour

 Order your very own copy here

Mel Sherratt wows the crowd at the London Book Fair

Bestselling crime writer Mel Sherratt appeared at the London Book Fair last week as part of a panel of writers (Stephanie Hudson, Keith Houghton, and Rachel Abbott) in discussion with Amazon’s UK Kindle Direct Publishing director.

A former self-published author, Mel has since gone on to sell over 250,000 copies of her books in the UK, US and Australia.

Read the coverage in Forbes Magazine and Futurebook.

“Dawson and Sherratt’s story of a previous life of humdrum is what appeals to the potential authors who attend the London Book Fair… Seeing their success first-hand presents a tangible and realistic route to fame and fortune because others, just like them, have done it.”

Mel Sherratt

Mel was also recently interviewed by The Sentinel about her latest novel Follow the Leader, why she refuses to set her crime novels in big cities, and making sure the police procedures in her novels are authentic.

 “Someone called me the Stoke-on-Trent version of Peter James.”

 “I have been bullied, I think most people have – or been a bully. I wanted people to realise that when you walk out of the school gates, that effect that you have on people can remain.”

 Read the full article here

Mel Sherratt

 

Publication day for THE LIE by C.L. Taylor

The Lie by C.L. Taylor is published by Avon/ HarperCollins today!

THE LIE by C.L. Taylor

I know your name’s not really Jane Hughes…

 

Haunting and compelling, this psychological thriller will have you hooked. If you liked psychological suspense thrillers such as Gone Girl, Before I Go to Sleep and Daughter, you’ll love this.

We are all incredibly excited at the MM Agency – The Lie has phenomenal retail support across the UK and the pre-publication reviews are exceptional.

Get your copy now!

US publication day for ANYONE BUT IVY POCKET by Caleb Krisp!

Happy US publication day Ivy!

American readers can now get their hands on a copy of Anyone But Ivy Pocket, published in hardcover by Greenwillow / HarperCollins and beautifully illustrated by Barbara Cantini.

** Anyone But Ivy Pocket  is now sold in 21 territories (including UK & US) **

Anyone but Ivy Pocket - US jacket

 Anyone But Ivy Pocket is a darkly whimsical and wickedly funny tale about a twelve-year-old maid who finds herself at the very heart of a conspiracy involving mischief, ghosts, and intrigue. Just right for fans of Lemony Snicket and Neil Gaiman.

“[Readers] will enjoy the ride, transported by Ivy’s amusing narration and Cantini’s expressive, stylized drawings…A droll chapter book with a Victorian setting and a one-of-a-kind protagonist.” ALA Booklist

“Krisp’s sharp, fresh dialogue and the action-packed illustrations keep the story light and funny. Fans of…Lemony Snickett’s ‘A Series of Unfortunate Events’ will love Ivy Pocket’s zany adventures.” School Library Journal

“Ivy is hilarious.” Kirkus

Countdown to the publication of THE LIE by C.L. Taylor!

It’s THREE days until publication day for The Lie, the latest riveting psychological suspense novel by bestselling author C.L. Taylor (The Accident). Avon/HarperCollins will publish on the 23rd April.

C.L. Taylor THE LIE

Pre-order your copy now!

Last Monday, HarperCollins held a pre-launch for The Lie at their new premises in London Bridge where C.L. Taylor read from her novel and signed exclusive 1st edition copies:

C.L. Taylor signing

The retail support has been phenomenal – THE LIE will be promoted across all major retailers in the UK.

Here is a selection of the exceptional pre-publication reviews The Lie has received so far:

‘Packed with twists and turns this brilliantly tense thriller will get your blood pumping.’
THE SUN (Fabulous magazine)

The Lie is absolutely brilliant – The Beach, only darker, more thrilling and more tense. It’s the story of a twisted, distorted friendship. It’s a compelling, addictive and wonderfully written tale. Can’t recommend it enough” – Louise Douglas

“C.L Taylor delivers another compelling read that’ll keep you turning pages way too late into the night. Warning: may cause drowsiness the following day.” – Tamar Cohen

The Lie felt to me like a Black Narcissus for the Facebook generation, a clever exploration of how petty jealousies and misunderstandings can unravel even the tightest of friendships. Claustrophobic, tense and thrilling, a thrill-ride of a novel that keeps you guessing.” – Elizabeth Haynes

“A gripping and disturbing psychological thriller: every bit as good as The Accident.” – Clare Mackintosh

“Tense, menacing and utterly addictive, The Lie is a superbly crafted thriller. I loved it!” – Miranda Dickinson

“A real page-turner, with two storylines: one of growing menace in the present, and a past narrative of a girls-only holiday that goes horrifically wrong. Creepy, horrifying and twisty. CL Taylor is extremely good at writing stories in which you have no idea which characters you can trust, and the result is intriguing and scary and extremely gripping.” – Julie Cohen

5/5 stars ‘The book is utterly gripping, enthralling and rather creepy in a very dark way….This was an excellent second book from Cally Taylor, a solid 5 star read and one that I loved and would highly recommend.’
Best Crime Books

5/5 stars ‘Taylor is queen of keeping you on the edge of your seat. Having read other work of hers I knew she was good. This showed me she is great.’
Nerd Problems

5/5 stars ‘It’s addictive and impossibly twisty – I just couldn’t stop reading it – when I’d finished, I looked up and saw that it was dark outside. Now THAT’s the sign of a great plot.’
Little Bookness Lane

5/5 stars ‘The Lie is an utterly gripping psychological thriller that you won’t forget for a long time. Dark and creepy and wonderfully written.’
Alba in Book Land

5/5 stars ‘I defy any reader not to enjoy this book, you need to read it, it is simply stunning! C. L. Taylor has rightfully earned her place on my ‘Destined for Huge Things’ bookshelf.’
Claire Loves to Read

‘An outstanding read and one that will linger with me for some time.’
Life of Cri.me

‘What I enjoyed about this read was its bleakness, strangely enough. It seemed to have a great deal to say on the fragility of friendships and the sadness of toxic relationships.’
Northern Crime