Mel Sherratt wows the crowd at the London Book Fair

Bestselling crime writer Mel Sherratt appeared at the London Book Fair last week as part of a panel of writers (Stephanie Hudson, Keith Houghton, and Rachel Abbott) in discussion with Amazon’s UK Kindle Direct Publishing director.

A former self-published author, Mel has since gone on to sell over 250,000 copies of her books in the UK, US and Australia.

Read the coverage in Forbes Magazine and Futurebook.

“Dawson and Sherratt’s story of a previous life of humdrum is what appeals to the potential authors who attend the London Book Fair… Seeing their success first-hand presents a tangible and realistic route to fame and fortune because others, just like them, have done it.”

Mel Sherratt

Mel was also recently interviewed by The Sentinel about her latest novel Follow the Leader, why she refuses to set her crime novels in big cities, and making sure the police procedures in her novels are authentic.

 “Someone called me the Stoke-on-Trent version of Peter James.”

 “I have been bullied, I think most people have – or been a bully. I wanted people to realise that when you walk out of the school gates, that effect that you have on people can remain.”

 Read the full article here

Mel Sherratt

 

Publication day for THE LIE by C.L. Taylor

The Lie by C.L. Taylor is published by Avon/ HarperCollins today!

THE LIE by C.L. Taylor

I know your name’s not really Jane Hughes…

 

Haunting and compelling, this psychological thriller will have you hooked. If you liked psychological suspense thrillers such as Gone Girl, Before I Go to Sleep and Daughter, you’ll love this.

We are all incredibly excited at the MM Agency – The Lie has phenomenal retail support across the UK and the pre-publication reviews are exceptional.

Get your copy now!

US publication day for ANYONE BUT IVY POCKET by Caleb Krisp!

Happy US publication day Ivy!

American readers can now get their hands on a copy of Anyone But Ivy Pocket, published in hardcover by Greenwillow / HarperCollins and beautifully illustrated by Barbara Cantini.

** Anyone But Ivy Pocket  is now sold in 21 territories (including UK & US) **

Anyone but Ivy Pocket - US jacket

 Anyone But Ivy Pocket is a darkly whimsical and wickedly funny tale about a twelve-year-old maid who finds herself at the very heart of a conspiracy involving mischief, ghosts, and intrigue. Just right for fans of Lemony Snicket and Neil Gaiman.

“[Readers] will enjoy the ride, transported by Ivy’s amusing narration and Cantini’s expressive, stylized drawings…A droll chapter book with a Victorian setting and a one-of-a-kind protagonist.” ALA Booklist

“Krisp’s sharp, fresh dialogue and the action-packed illustrations keep the story light and funny. Fans of…Lemony Snickett’s ‘A Series of Unfortunate Events’ will love Ivy Pocket’s zany adventures.” School Library Journal

“Ivy is hilarious.” Kirkus

Countdown to the publication of THE LIE by C.L. Taylor!

It’s THREE days until publication day for The Lie, the latest riveting psychological suspense novel by bestselling author C.L. Taylor (The Accident). Avon/HarperCollins will publish on the 23rd April.

C.L. Taylor THE LIE

Pre-order your copy now!

Last Monday, HarperCollins held a pre-launch for The Lie at their new premises in London Bridge where C.L. Taylor read from her novel and signed exclusive 1st edition copies:

C.L. Taylor signing

The retail support has been phenomenal – THE LIE will be promoted across all major retailers in the UK.

Here is a selection of the exceptional pre-publication reviews The Lie has received so far:

‘Packed with twists and turns this brilliantly tense thriller will get your blood pumping.’
THE SUN (Fabulous magazine)

The Lie is absolutely brilliant – The Beach, only darker, more thrilling and more tense. It’s the story of a twisted, distorted friendship. It’s a compelling, addictive and wonderfully written tale. Can’t recommend it enough” – Louise Douglas

“C.L Taylor delivers another compelling read that’ll keep you turning pages way too late into the night. Warning: may cause drowsiness the following day.” – Tamar Cohen

The Lie felt to me like a Black Narcissus for the Facebook generation, a clever exploration of how petty jealousies and misunderstandings can unravel even the tightest of friendships. Claustrophobic, tense and thrilling, a thrill-ride of a novel that keeps you guessing.” – Elizabeth Haynes

“A gripping and disturbing psychological thriller: every bit as good as The Accident.” – Clare Mackintosh

“Tense, menacing and utterly addictive, The Lie is a superbly crafted thriller. I loved it!” – Miranda Dickinson

“A real page-turner, with two storylines: one of growing menace in the present, and a past narrative of a girls-only holiday that goes horrifically wrong. Creepy, horrifying and twisty. CL Taylor is extremely good at writing stories in which you have no idea which characters you can trust, and the result is intriguing and scary and extremely gripping.” – Julie Cohen

5/5 stars ‘The book is utterly gripping, enthralling and rather creepy in a very dark way….This was an excellent second book from Cally Taylor, a solid 5 star read and one that I loved and would highly recommend.’
Best Crime Books

5/5 stars ‘Taylor is queen of keeping you on the edge of your seat. Having read other work of hers I knew she was good. This showed me she is great.’
Nerd Problems

5/5 stars ‘It’s addictive and impossibly twisty – I just couldn’t stop reading it – when I’d finished, I looked up and saw that it was dark outside. Now THAT’s the sign of a great plot.’
Little Bookness Lane

5/5 stars ‘The Lie is an utterly gripping psychological thriller that you won’t forget for a long time. Dark and creepy and wonderfully written.’
Alba in Book Land

5/5 stars ‘I defy any reader not to enjoy this book, you need to read it, it is simply stunning! C. L. Taylor has rightfully earned her place on my ‘Destined for Huge Things’ bookshelf.’
Claire Loves to Read

‘An outstanding read and one that will linger with me for some time.’
Life of Cri.me

‘What I enjoyed about this read was its bleakness, strangely enough. It seemed to have a great deal to say on the fragility of friendships and the sadness of toxic relationships.’
Northern Crime

MM Agency at the London Book Fair 2015

lbf

London Book Fair

Last week, the MM team spent an intense, but highly fulfilling, three days at the London Book Fair 2015  meeting international publishers and producers from all corners of the globe. With prime positioning at the entrance of the International Rights Centre, under the spectacular skylights (in fluke 25 degrees heat!),  we welcomed over 200 international publishers, scouts and film people to our tables to discuss our remarkable adult and children’s lists.

show-london-book-fair

We received a huge amount of international interest and excitement for both our brilliant existing books and impressive up-coming titles!

It was an absolute pleasure and a delight to present such a splendid assortment of wonderful titles to publishers from so many countries, and we look forward to many rights sales to come!

Thank you to all of our authors for making this possible.

The MM Agency X

Holly Bourne to appear at YALC

‘Am I Normal Yet? is a no-holds-barred story of struggling to live a “normal” teen life': Maximum Pop reveals the cover for Am I Normal Yet?

Read their article here.

If you’d like to get your hands on an early copy of Am I Normal Yet?, Holly Bourne will be appearing at YALC this year, where copies will be available to buy!

Read The Guardian coverage here.

This year YALC will take place in a decicated Book Zone at the London Film and Comic Con, which runs from 17-19th July at Olympia, London. You can buy tickets here.

AM I NORMAL YET Holly Bourne

 Am I Normal Yet? is published by Usborne in August 2015

UK Publication day for ANYONE BUT IVY POCKET by Caleb Krisp

MEET THE GIRL EVERYONE IS TRYING TO AVOID!

Happy publication day Ivy!

UK  readers can now purchase Caleb Krisp’s hotly anticipated Middle Grade debut, ANYONE BUT IVY POCKET, published in hardback today by Bloomsbury in the UK. Illustrations by John Kelly.

Order your copy now!

Anyone but Ivy Pocket - UK jacket

 Reviews

“Exuberantly told with apt and wildly witty caricatures from John Kelly, it has a fun, original voice ”  The Sunday Times

“The plot is one that just keeps moving and twisting with plenty of surprises. Totally intriguing” My Book Corner

“The story is pure mayhem containing a rip cord of crazy events that will skip by you in a blur of pure imagination and great storytelling” Mr Ripley’s Enchanted Books

“This story absolutely blew me away” What Lexie Loves

“Completely delightful” YA Yeah Yeah

 

Anyone But Ivy Pocket Blog Tour

Monday 20th April – Q&A with author Caleb Krisp on My Reading Corner

Tuesday 21st April – Illustrator John Kelly talks to Minerva Reads about illustrating Anyone But Ivy Pocket

Wednesday 22nd April – Post from Caleb Krisp on Ivy Pocket (Mr Ripley)

Thursday 23rd April – Guest post from John on illustrating fiction covers (YAYeahYeah)

Friday 24th April   – Top 10 Things for Fiction Fascination

 

Bestselling author C.J. Daugherty events at London Book Fair and Comic Con!

This spring is particularly exciting for C.J. Daugherty fans. Ahead of the publication of the final installment of the international bestselling Night School series, Endgame (4 June 2015), and a hotly anticipated collaboration with Carina Rozenfeld, The Secret Fire (3 September 2015), C.J. will be making a number of London appearances!

C.J. Daugherty

London Book Fair

Tuesday 14 April 2015
London Book Fair, Olympia
4pm-5pm
The Dark Arts: Writing Fantasy and Horror for Young Adults
C.J. will be part of a panel discussion alongside Zoe Marriott (The Name of The Blade), Liz de Jager (Banished), and Sally Green (Half Bad).  They will talk about writing sexy/dangerous characters and violence. Admission to the panel is free with a ticket to the book fair. No books will be sold at this event but do bring your Night School books with you, and C.J will sign!

More information here

Wednesday 15 April 2015
London Book Fair, Olympia
2:45-3:30
Social media and you
C.J. will be part of a panel talking about how to use social media and digital platforms to spread the word about your book. Aspiring writers – this is the panel for you! Admission is free with a ticket to the book fair.

 

London Comic Con Vidfest

Sunday, 24 May 2015
London Comic Con Vidfest, Excel Arena
Meet the cast of the Night School Web Series
! Campbell Challis (Carter), Jessica Sargent (Allie), Grace Parry (Katie) and Jodi Hirst (Jo)  will all be on a panel with C.J. and director Jack Jewers to talk about the Night School Web Series. There will be a signing afterwards, and you can find out about all of the backstage secrets.

For Comic Con tickets find out more here.

London Comic Con

17-19 July 2015
YALC, at London Comic Con
C.J. will be on a panel and signing books at the YALC book convention, which will take place at Comic Con over this weekend.

Get your YALC tickets early!

Night School_Endgame (2)The Secret Fire by C.J. Daugherty and Carina Rozenfeld

THE SECRET FIRE Cover Reveal

The dramatic cover for the eagerly anticipated YA collaboration THE SECRET FIRE is revealed today!!!

This riveting series by international bestselling author  C.J. Daugherty and award-winning YA fantasy author Carina Rozenfeld  will be published by Atom on the 3rd of September.

The Secret Fire by C.J. Daugherty and Carina Rozenfeld