Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne selected for World Book Night 2016

We’re incredibly chuffed to announce that our wondrous YA author Holly Bourne has been selected as one of 15 titles on the World Book Night 2016 list with AM I NORMAL YET?


World Book Night 2016 officially kicks off today in the UK and Ireland as the 15 titles to be given away in 2016 are announced. This year sees a sensational and diverse line up of crime, poetry, non-fiction, Quick Reads, YA, historical fiction, and fiction in translation celebrating the enrichment that reading and books can bring to people’s lives, especially the 36% of adults who do not read for pleasure.

The list for 2016 is made up of 15 books, including big-name authors such as Matt Haig, Jonathan Coe and Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy, as well as exciting new names like Holly and the debut novel by now-bestselling crime author Sarah Hilary. The list has been curated to reach specific audiences with different attitudes or approaches to reading, including adults and young people dealing with mental health issues (Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig and Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne).

AM I NORMAL YET Holly Bourne

World Book Night 2016 falls on Saturday 23 April, Shakespeare’s birthday and the 400th anniversary of his death. The flagship event will take place at the British Library with appearances from authors and actors, and will celebrate Shakespeare’s themes and language by making creative connections between the books on the list and Shakespeare’s plays.

Check out the World Book Night page for more details: and here is the announcement in The Bookseller:

And don’t forget to get your copy here!

MM Agency Team Top Fives – Young Adult

As a pre-weekend treat, we have spent (part of) the morning compiling lists of our favourite YA titles, an activity which proved surprisingly hard when we’re not allowed to add any of our own wonderful YA authors!

Thérèse’s top 5 picks:


  1. We were Liars by E. Lockhart
  2. If You Find Me by Emily Murdoch
  3. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
  4. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
  5. The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

Madeleine’s top 5 picks:

Maddy YA

  1. The Fault in our Stars by John Green
  2. My Sister Lives on the Mantlepiece by Annabel Pitcher
  3. Being Billy by Phil Earle
  4. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  5. Skellig by David Almond

Sarah’s top 5 picks:

Sarah YA

  1. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell
  2. Monsters by Emerald Fennell
  3. Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill
  4. The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich
  5. Sophie Someone by Hayley Long

And special mention goes to Cara who has avoided our task by running off to the Caribbean to go on a two-week cruise, which allegedly includes going swimming with sharks! Not that we’re jealous, of course…



RECIPES FOR MELISSA by Teresa Driscoll Shortlisted for Leserpreis 2015

We’re thrilled that our debut author Teresa Driscoll has been shortlisted for the prestigious German Reader Award, Der Leserpreis 2015, for RECIPES FOR MELISSA (German title: “Fur Alle Tage die noch kommen”).

The translation of Recipes for Melissa is one of just 16 titles with publisher Droemer Knaur shortlisted from 4,900 national nominations across a range of categories. Teresa’s debut has made the final 25 in the General Fiction sector alongside Jojo Moyes, Rowan Coleman and Jodi Picoult in the LeserPreis Awards 2015. The awards, in their seventh year, are now Germany’s biggest reader choice awards.

Teresa says: “For my debut to make the final 25 alongside such well-known names is just amazing. The fact this is readers voting for my debut is especially rewarding. I’m chuffed to bits.”

Make sure you vote for this beautiful title here before the 24th of November!

Recipes - UKDE

Lara Williamson wins Sheffield Book Award

We are absolutely over the moon to announce that the phenomenal Lara Williamson has won the the Sheffield Children’s Book Award for A BOY CALLED HOPE . Lara won the overall prize for best book!

Sheffield Children's Book Award

The awards were launched in 1988 to encourage children and young people to read and to highlight the best literature published each year. The award was presented to Lara by Lord Mayor Councillor Talib Hussain:

Huge congratulations to Lara for her well-deserved win!

Lara Sheffield

Lara with her beautiful award

If you have not read Dan’s heart-warming story of courage and hope, get your copy here!

Kathryn Croft No.1 Kindle bestseller

Kathryn Croft‘s third novel, THE GIRL WITH NO PAST (Bookouture) is still holding strong in the Kindle bestseller charts at No.1. This gripping psychological suspense novel has now sold over 50,000 copies since its publication under a month ago.

The Girl with No Past

Years spent running from your past. Today it catches up.

Leah Mills lives a life of a fugitive – kept on the run by one terrible day from her past. It is a lonely life, without a social life or friends until – longing for a connection – she meets Julian. For the first time she dares to believe she can live a normal life.

Then, on the fourteenth anniversary of that day, she receives a card. Someone knows the truth about what happened. Someone who won’t stop until they’ve destroyed the life Leah has created.

But is Leah all she seems? Or does she deserve everything she gets?

Everyone has secrets. But some are deadly.

Get your copy now

MM Agency Team Top Fives – Non-Fiction

In our second set of Top Five favourite titles, the MM Agency Team is delving into the world of non-fiction books we have recently read. Here are our rather different takes on our favourites:



  1. Awakening by Oliver Sacks
  2. Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay
  3. Being Mortal by Atul Guwande
  4. The Psychopath Test by Jon Ronson
  5. The Undertaker’s Daughter by Kate Mayfield



  1. Do No Harm by Henry Marsh
  2. David and Goliath by Malcolm Gladwell
  3. The Lady in Gold by Anne-Marie O’Connor
  4. Consider the Lobster by David Foster Wallace
  5. The Hare with the Amber Eyes by Edmund de Waal



  1. The Silence of Animals by John Gray
  2. Landmarks by Robert MacFarlane
  3. We Should All be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  4. The Snow Geese by William Fiennes
  5. Far from the Tree by Andrew Solomon



  1. How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran
  2. Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson
  3. Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert
  4. Men are from Mar, Women are from Venus by John Gray
  5. The Examined Life by Stephen Grosz

MM Agency Top Fives – Literary Fiction

Our agents are always looking for new authors to represent. To help give an idea of the types of books we are looking for, we have all compiled High Fidelity-style top five lists of our favourite books (excluding our own authors). In the first part of Madeleine Milburn Agency Team Top Fives, our agents pick their favourite literary fiction titles of the last few years:



  1. The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan
  2. A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara
  3. The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt
  4. Life After Life by Kate Atkinson
  5. Room by Emma Donoghue



  1. Animals by Emma Jane Unsworth
  2. The Wallcreeper by Nell Zink
  3. Here are the Young Men by Rob Doyle
  4. The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer
  5. Astonish Me by Maggie Shipstead




  1. The Maddaddam Trilogy by Margaret Atwood
  2. All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
  3. Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel
  4. The Little Red Chairs by Edna O’Brien
  5. The Bees by Laline Paull



  1. How to be both by Ali Smith
  2. The My Struggle cycle by Karl Ove Knausgaard
  3. Outline by Rachel Cusk
  4. A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James
  5. The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters


Publication day for FORGET ME NOT by Luana Lewis

Luana Lewis‘s latest psychological suspense novel, Forget Me Not, has been published by Penguin Random House / Transworld. Translation rights have already been sold to the Netherlands (De Bezige Bij/Cargo), Brazil (Rocco) and France (Denoël).

A gripping suspense thriller perfect for fans of Jane Shemilt’s Daughter, Louise Doughty’s Apple Tree Yard and Claire Kendal’s The Book of You.

FORGET ME NOT by Luana Lewis

A tragic suicide? Or the perfect murder?

When Rose’s daughter, Vivien, is found dead in a suspected suicide, Rose has questions nobody can answer. Wasn’t Vivien living the perfect life? A caring husband, a sweet little girl of her own.
But as the police investigation develops, their findings raise new questions. Did Vivien kill herself, or was she attacked? If so, who has something to hide?
As Rose struggles to piece together the secrets of her daughter’s life, the cracks in the family begin to show. But once Rose knows the answers, there’s no going back…

Praise for Luana Lewis

‘A real heart-racing chiller’ Samantha Hayes

‘Not to be missed’ Daily Mail

‘This is a wonderfully tense story, full of characters who may or may not be telling the truth. Compellingly, creepy – not one to read while home alone.’ Glamour

‘A stunning debut psychological thriller.’ Sun

Major Hollywood Studio Paramount buys film rights


Film rights for Caleb Krisp’s children’s book Anyone But Ivy Pocket (Bloomsbury) have been acquired by the major Hollywood studio Paramount Pictures.

Hunger-Games-logo-dauntlesstrisx-38586162-630-328Producer of The Hunger Games and Cinderella, Allison Shearmur, will be producing the film with the scriptwriters behind Sherlock Holmes, Kieran and Michele Mulroney, writing the script.

The deal was brokered by Michelle Kroes at CAA in Los Angeles on behalf of Madeleine Milburn at Madeleine Milburn Ltd in a major six-figure pre-empt.

Anyone But Ivy Pocket is published in America (HarperCollins) and the UK (Bloomsbury) and has also been translated into 23 different languages.  It’s the first book in a children’s series about a twelve-year-old maid of no importance who finds herself at the very heart of a conspiracy involving mischief, ghosts and murder…

Anyone but Ivy Pocket by Caleb KrispFor further coverage see our film news reported in The Bookseller and Bookbrunch.

Publication day for Snowflakes on Silver Cove by Holly Martin!

Snowflakes on Silver Cove, the second book in The White Cliff Bay series by Holly Martin is published by Bookouture today!

Holly-Martin-Snowflakes-on-Silver-Cove-570Libby Joseph is famous for her romantic Christmas stories. Every December, readers devour her books of falling in love against the magical backdrop of the Christmas season. If only Libby believed in the magic herself…

Struggling to finish her current novel, Libby turns to her best friend and neighbour George Donaldson to cheer her up. But George also needs a bit of support himself. Nervous about getting back into the dating saddle after splitting from his wife, he and Libby strike a deal. She will teach George how to win over the ladies, and Libby will in turn be inspired to inject her novel with a good dose of romance.

As Libby and George explore the beautiful White Cliff Bay on a series of romantic Christmas-themed dates, Libby finds herself having more fun than she’s had in ages and…discovers feelings that she never knew she had for George.

You can buy your copy here