WHAT’S A GIRL GOTTA DO? by Holly Bourne named Bookseller’s ‘Book of the Month’

We are excited to see that What’s a Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne has been selected as the Bookseller’s ‘Book of the Month’ for teen readers this upcoming August! This is the third and final installment in Bourne’s spirited trilogy, which follows three young women as they struggle to overcome the perils of love, friendship, and adulthood.

The Bookseller writes that ‘what could have been an “issues” book in the hands of a lesser writer is made relevant, real and so accessible by Bourne, who writes with such wisdom, honesty and heart.’ We agree wholeheartedly with this insight, and would also concur that ‘this is a book to press into the hands of every teenage girl you know.’ Check out the funky cover art, released on Maximumpop.co.uk this afternoon

whats-a-girl-gotta-do-final

We are so happy and proud of Holly Bourne and her incredible series. We hope to see a lot more of Lottie and the rest of the ‘Spinster Club’ in days to come!

What’s a Girl Gotta Do? will be published by Usbourne on the 1st of August, but you can pre-order your copy here

 

Publication Day for THE LONELINESS OF DISTANT BEINGS by Kate Ling

Today is the publication of the utterly mesmerising THE LONELINESS OF DISTANT BEINGS by Kate Ling. It is the first book in a trilogy and is being published by Little, Brown.

“This is how it feels to realise that your whole miserable life and everything in it has never been yours, has always belonged to someone else, and always will, and there’s nothing you can do about it.”

The Loneliness of Distant Beings by Kate Ling

It is that quick, that strong, that beautiful. And it is also totally impossible.

Even though she knows it’s impossible, Seren longs to have the sunshine on her skin. It’s something she feels she needs to stay sane. But when you’re hurtling through space at thousands of kilometres an hour, sometimes you have to accept there are things you cannot change.

Except that the arrival of Dom in her life changes everything in ways she can barely comprehend. He becomes the sun for her, and she can’t help but stay in his orbit. To lose him would be like losing herself . . .

In the dark, can a heart still hope?

A love story for the cynical.

                 A passing glimpse of sun.

                                     In the dark, can a heart still hope?

moon

Get your copy here!

THE BOY WHO SAILED THE OCEAN IN AN ARMCHAIR selected for 2016 Bookbuzz list

We at Madeleine Milburn Agency are thrilled to announce that The Boy Who Sailed the Ocean in an Armchair by Lara Williamson has been included in Booktrust’s annual Bookbuzz list

 

The Boy who Sailed the Ocean in an Armchair

 

The Bookbuzz list is created for Year 7 and 8 students every year to encourage reading as a pastime. Books are selected which appeal to readers of all reading levels and range across various genres. The list aims to support books which allow students to discover new worlds and exciting ways to utilize their own limitless imaginations. We are honoured to be included in any program which seeks to inspire young readers, and are proud to see Lara Williamson alongside such legends as Neil Gaiman and Michael Morpurgo.

The Bookbuzz list is endorsed by over 250 Secondary Schools across England, where featured books are made available to scores of enthusiastic readers. It is exciting to think that one of our books will be read by such a large and diverse group of emerging thinkers—some of whom may be future writers themselves.

There’s buzzing in the air, and we at Madeleine Milburn are happy to hear it!

You can read more about the Bookbuzz list here

SUMMER AT ROSE ISLAND by Holly Martin is published by Bookouture today

Summer at Rose Island, the third installment in Holly Martins bestselling White Cliff Bay series is published by Bookouture today.

Darcy Davenport is ready for a fresh start. Determined to leave a string of disastrous jobs and relationships behind her, she can’t wait to explore White Cliff Bay and meet the locals. When Darcy swims in the crystal clear waters of the bay, she discovers the charming Rose Island Lighthouse. But it’s not just the beautiful building that she finds so intriguing…

Darcy is drawn to the mysterious and sexy Riley, but when it seems the town is trying to demolish his home, she soon finds herself having to pick sides. She’s fallen in love with White Cliff Bay, but is that all Darcy’s fallen for?

Pre-publication praise

“Like getting a huge hug from your best friend, after you haven’t seen them for a while…a fabulously sweet and cosy romance.” Rachel’s Random Reads

“This story has everything you look for in a contemporary romance story. It is funny, engaging and warm. The characters are quirky, honest, and lovable. The English seaside, with its village pub and picturesque lighthouse, couldn’t be a more perfect setting.” What’s Better Than Books

“The characters seem to jump out of the pages and into your head and heart.” Fiona’s Book Reviews

 SUMMER AT ROSE ISLAND

Pull up a deck chair, sink back with a bowl of strawberry ice cream and pick up the summer read you won’t be able to put down. Find your copy here

AM I NORMAL YET? by Holly Bourne is not just for kids

We are delighted to read that The Guardian has named Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne among its Top 10 children’s and YA books that adults can learn from. We believe that this book contains important lessons for readers of all ages and are thrilled to see that others agree!

AM I NORMAL YET Holly Bourne

Article author Kiran Millwood Hargrave calls Bourne’s book a brutal and brilliant takedown of how we talk about mental illness, feminism, and friendship and suggests that if you’ve ever felt out of the ordinary, this is for you (ie everyone).

Read the full review and the rest of the article by following the link posted above

Madeleine Milburn Agency at the Bologna and London Book Fairs

The Madeleine Milburn Literary Agency had a packed but wonderful time at the Bologna and London Book Fairs this year selling rights to international publishers worldwide.

The Children’s Book Fair, held every year in Bologna, came first and we attended for a short but intense three days. Meetings mostly took place at the stands of all the different foreign publishing houses we were presenting to, giving us a fascinating snapshot of the types of books that were trending across the globe and how different publishing houses presented their publications. We obviously had the occasional mandatory ice-cream break to regain our strengths in between meetings, of course.

icecream bologna

The London Book Fair took place the week after Bologna, so Madeleine, Thérèse and Cara all had three days packed full with meetings with international editors in the International Rights Centre. We had a great guide to present, with gorgeous new debut titles and  a host of really exciting new books from our fantastic existing authors. It was the perfect occasion to find out about the foreign editors’ acquisition wishlist and to catch up on their exciting publication plans for some of our books which had been acquired around previous book fairs.

IMG_2926

Madeleine Milburn and Therese Coen at LBF

We were so proud to have two of our authors joining panels at the London Book Fair; Mel Sherratt talked on a panel about Independent Publishing with Amazon, such as Kindle Direct, while Kathryn Croft debated on a panel discussing whether Self-Publishing Houses were the next level in the evolution of Self-Publishing as a whole.

Mel Panel

Mel Sherratt talking at the panel at LBF

We had brought along a whole set of our beautiful book proofs and finished copies, and really enjoyed showing off our authors’ hard work!

IMG_2924

Mel Sherratt writing as Marcie Steele in the Top 10!

We are thrilled to see Mel Sherratt writing as Marcie Steele storm up the Amazon charts with her uplifting romantic tale of love and friendship, The Second Chance Shoe Shop, already at No.7!

SECOND CHANCE SHOE SHOP - Mel Sharrat

For fans of Carole Matthews and Amanda Prowse, The Second Chance Shoe Shop (Bookouture) circles around a group of friends who put together a plan to save their beloved shop whilst battling the ups and downs of their personal lives.

Mel Sherratt is well-known for her gritty crime thrillers which consistently feature in the top 10 on Amazon. It’s wonderful seeing her success span two hugely popular genres in both the UK and the US. Follow this link for Marcie Steele’s heartwarming, uplifting read.  For news and further updates follow @Marcie-Steele #Shoelove

SOMEBODY STOP IVY POCKET published by Bloomsbury today!

Somebody Stop Ivy Pocket by Caleb Krisp is published by Bloomsbury today and will be out in America later this month. This is the fast-paced and hilarious follow-up to Anyone But Ivy Pocket which has now been translated into 23 different languages.

Somebody Stop Ivy Pocket UK

Everyone seems to want a piece of Ivy Pocket. Her adoptive parents keep trying to get her to clean the funeral home, even though Ivy’s certain she s already the picture of a perfect daughter. A beautiful heiress named Estelle wants Ivy to uncover the dark truth behind her brother s death. Her new friend, Miss Carnage, keeps asking Ivy the most curious questions (the poor, clueless dear).

To top it all off, Ivy must protect the Clock Diamond from the evil Miss Always, who seems to be lurking around every corner!

Join in Ivy’s adventures and get your copy here

 

THE MISSING is No. 1 on Kindle Bestsellers

We’re thrilled that C. L. Taylor’s gripping new book The Missing has reached the No. 1 spot on the Kindle Bestsellers chart.

The Missing kindle charts

The Missing also continues to be a Top 10 Sunday Times paperback bestseller – this week at No.8.

Congratulations to C. L. Taylor from everyone at the Madeleine Milburn Agency on this incredible achievement.

World Book Night and Holly Bourne’s AM I NORMAL YET?

World Book Night was this weekend, and we were so excited that Holly Bourne’s Am I Normal Yet? was one of the fifteen fantastic titles on their list to be given away this year.

logo-dafa16815db049d48c742c00ef280a65

The list was curated to reach specific audiences with different attitudes or approaches to reading, and the selection of Am I Normal Yet? for  the 2016 list highlights mental health issues for young people.

AM I NORMAL YET Holly Bourne

 World Book Night is run by national charity The Reading Agency who aim to inspire greater numbers of people to read more, encourage them to share their enjoyment of reading with others and celebrate the difference that reading makes to all of our lives.

Holly had a wonderful night at the special gala event held at The British Library, which celebrated Shakespeare’s birthday and the 400th anniversary of his death. Alongside other authors including Matt Haig, Dreda Say Mitchell, S. J. Parris, and Sathnam Sanghera, she participated in a panel chaired by Cathy Rentzenbrink, author of last year’s Sunday Times bestseller The Last Act of Love, discussing her love of reading and her favourite books.

holly tweet

For more details and news about World Book Night you can check out their website

And don’t forget to get your own copy of Am I Normal Yet? here