Book:

THE BOY AT THE KEYHOLE

Stephen Giles

For fans of Shirley Jackson, Sarah Waters and Daphne du Maurier, an electrifying debut about a boy left alone in his family’s English estate with a housekeeper he suspects has murdered his mother.

 

Nine-year-old Samuel lives alone in a once-great estate in Cornwall with the family’s housekeeper, Ruth, who runs their home with an iron fist. His father is dead and his mother has been abroad for months, purportedly tending to her late husband’s faltering business. She left abruptly one night while Samuel was sleeping and did not say goodbye.

 

Beyond her sporadic postcards, Samuel hears nothing from his mother. As rumors in town begin to swirl, Samuel wonders whether something more sinister is afoot. Perhaps his mother did not leave, but was murdered—by Ruth.

 

Artful, haunting and hurtling toward a psychological showdown, The Boy at the Keyhole is an incandescent debut about the precarious dance between truth and perception, and the shocking acts that occur behind closed doors.

Reviews:

A fiendishly efficient, gorgeously written, nasty little thrill ride of a psychological thriller. I couldn't put it down, and it's entirely possible that I'll never sleep again. A true tour-de-force of a debut novel.

Lyndsay Faye, author of The Gods of Gotham and Jane Steele
Lyndsay Faye , author of The Gods of Gotham and Jane Steele

At the heart of this gripping, perfectly paced story is a lonely nine-year-old boy consigned to the often brutal control of his absent mother's housekeeper. A relentless, claustrophobic tale about the constancy and opacity of love, where the truth must be terrible in order to be believed.

Charles Lambert, author of The Children’s Home
Charles Lambert , author of The Children’s Home

The Boy at the Keyhole is sinister and tight, amusing and intense, an emotional story of a sweet boy hurting from his mother's absence and unhinged by the possibility of her murder. A fun and wicked read that is impossible to put down!

Matthew Sullivan, Author of Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore
Matthew Sullivan , Author of Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore

Genre

Accessible Literary Fiction

UK Publication

On offer

US Publication

Harpercollins / Hanover Square Press

Rights Sales

ANZ: Penguin Random House Australia
US: Harpercollins / Hanover Square Press
Czech: Leda Publishing
Estonian: Pegasus
Korean: Minumsa Publishing
Polish: Zysk