Book:

THE ANIMALS AT LOCKWOOD MANOR

Jane Healey

The Animals at Lockwood Manor is a debut gothic romance centered around Hetty Cartwright, director of the evacuated Natural History Museum and Lucy Lockwood, daughter of Major Lockwood who is homing the museum on his estate during the Blitz.

In August 1939, a lonely thirty-year-old Hetty Cartwright arrives at Lockwood Manor as the director of the evacuated Natural History Museum.

She is unprepared for the scale of protecting her charges from party guests, wild animals, the elements, the tyrannical Major Lockwood and Luftwaffe bombs. Most of all though, she is unprepared for the beautiful and haunted Lucy Lockwood.

For Lucy, who has spent much of her life cloistered at Lockwood suffering from bad nerves, the arrival of the museum brings with it new freedoms. But it also resurfaces memories of her late mother, and nightmares in which Lucy roams Lockwood hunting for something she has lost.

When the animals start to move of their own accord, and exhibits go missing, they begin to wonder what exactly it is that they might need protection from.

As the disasters mount up, it is not only Hetty’s future employment that is in danger, but her sanity too. There’s something, or someone, in the house. Someone stalking her through its darkened corridors…

With its atmospheric setting, beautifully rendered romance and vivid characters, The Animals At Lockwood Manor is perfect for fans of Sarah Waters, Jessie Burton and Alice Hoffman.

Genre

Gothic Romance

UK Publication

Pan Macmillan / Mantle, April 2020

US Publication

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Rights Sales

UK & Commonwealth: Pan Macmillan / Mantle
US: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Dutch: De Bezige Bij
German: Hanser