Book:

The Authenticity Project

Clare Pooley

One green notebook. Six strangers. The chance to start being honest…

Six strangers with one universal thing in common: their lives aren’t always what they make them out to be.

But what would happen if they told the truth instead?

Desperate to confess the deep loneliness he feels, Julian begins The Authenticity Project – a small green notebook containing the truth about his life – to pass on and encourage others to share their own.

Leaving it on a table in Monica’s café, a warm, friendly place where Julian escapes at his most lonely moments, he never expects Monica to find it and track him down. Or that his small act of honesty will impact all those who come into contact with the book, and lead to a life-changing world of friendship and forgiveness…

 

#1 LibraryReads Pick, chosen as a top pick for 2020 by Good Morning America and Woman & Home.

Reviews:

I loved The Authenticity Project. It has such an intriguing premise, wonderful characters and is utterly truthful about the lies that we all tell. It’s a clever, uplifting book that entertains and makes you think.

Sophie Kinsella, No. 1 bestselling author of Can You Keep a Secret?
Sophie Kinsella , No. 1 bestselling author of Can You Keep a Secret?

The message is strong, urging readers to get off their smartphones and social media and live in the real, authentic world—no chain stores or brands allowed here—making friends and forming a real-life community and support network. And is that really a bad thing? An enjoyable, cozy novel that touches on tough topics.

Kirkus Reviews
Kirkus Reviews

Pooley maintains a quick, satisfying pace as the characters’ simple, spontaneous acts affect each other’s lives. This is a beautiful and illuminating story of self-creation.

Publisher's Weekly
Publisher's Weekly

Beautifully written, thought provoking and uplifting, The Authenticity Project is a warm and endearing tale about truth, friendship and the power of connection. Pooley's characters will stay with you long after you turn the final page. It was a joy to read.

Mike Gayle
Mike Gayle

The Authenticity Project cracks the facades that people present to the world and shows what happens when you're willing to share your true self. This is a story of love, of community, of found family, and of forgiveness. A beautiful book with a poignant message, perfect for our time.

Jill Santopolo, New York Times bestselling author of The Light We Lost
Jill Santopolo , New York Times bestselling author of The Light We Lost

The Authenticity Project reads like a gorgeous box of chocolates: sweet, surprising and impossible not to love. I found myself cheering, cringing, laughing and crying as I read this book and – above all – remembering the true value of community and human connection.

Tara Conklin, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Romantics
Tara Conklin , New York Times bestselling author of The Last Romantics

The Authenticity Project is a rich roast of great characters, even better relationships, wonderful entanglements, and a few surprises along the way. If Monica’s Cafe were a real place, I’d stop by every day.

Laurie Frankel, New York Times bestselling author of This Is How It Always Is
Laurie Frankel , New York Times bestselling author of This Is How It Always Is

Fans of Fredrick Backman and Gail Honeyman -- make room on your shelves for Clare Pooley. The Authenticity Project is a stunning debut and it left me inspired me to share more of myself with the world

Steven Rowley
Steven Rowley

A heart-warming, feel-good story about love, loss and what it means to be human. Pooley’s debut is gloriously upbeat and gorgeously readable.

Annabel Abbs
Annabel Abbs

One of the best books I’ve read in a long time. Original, engaging and unforgettable.

Sarah Morgan
Sarah Morgan

Insightful, timely, and utterly addictive, The Authenticity Project illuminates the importance of discovering - and honoring - our truest, most imperfect selves.

Georgia Hunter
Georgia Hunter

It’s full of life’s truths, funny, poignant and ultimately uplifting. I thoroughly enjoyed it

Fanny Blake
Fanny Blake

Genre

Uplifting book club fiction

UK Publication

PRH / Transworld, April 2020

US Publication

PRH / Pam Dorman Books, February 2020

Rights Sales

UK & Commonwealth: PRH / Transworld
North American: PRH / Pam Dorman Books
Bulgarian: Iztok-Zapad
Chinese (Complex): Spring International
Chinese (Simplified): United Sky
Croat: Znanje
Czech: Fortuna Libri
Dutch: De Bezige Bij
Estonian: Varrak
Finnish: WSOY
French: Fleuve Editions
German: Goldmann
Greek: Metaichmio
Hebrew: Keter
Hungarian: General Press
Italian: Mondadori
Korean: Munhakdongne
Lithuanian: Balto Slankos
Norwegian: Aschehoug
Polish: Zysk
Portuguese (EU): Grupo Planeta
Romanian: Editura Trei
Russian: Azbooka
Serbian: Laguna
Slovak: Fortuna Libri
Spanish: PRH / Grijalbo
Swedish: Printz Publishing