Book:

The Dangerous Kind

Deborah O’Connor

What if the people we trust are the ones we should fear?

We all recognise them. Those who sit just on the fringes of society. Who send prickles up the backs of our necks. The charmers. The liars. The manipulators. Those who have the potential to go a step too far. And then take another step.

Jessamine Gooch makes a living from these people. Each week she broadcasts a radio show looking into the past lives of convicted killers; asking if there was more that could have been done to prevent their terrible crimes.

Then one day she is approached by a woman desperate to find her missing friend, Cassie, fearing her abusive husband may have taken that final deadly step. But as Jessamine delves into the months prior to Cassie’s disappearance she fails to realise there is a dark figure closer to home, one that threatens the safety of her own family…

Set over a long, dark winter in London and perfect for fans of He Said/She Said and Apple Tree YardThe Dangerous Kind is at once a complex and gripping thriller and a stunning portrayal of the monsters that live among us.

Genre

Thriller

UK Publication

Bonnier Zaffre, May 2019

US Publication

Rights Sales