Book:

The Silent Treatment 

Abbie Greaves

The story of a couple, Frank and Margot, who have been married for forty years, but who haven’t spoken for the last six months.

Frank hasn’t spoken to his wife Margot for the last six months of their married life. Not one, solitary sentence, not one single word. Margot has no idea why. Well, she has plenty of ideas why Frank is choosing not to speak to her but no firm answer.

For six, silent months they have lived under the same roof, slept in the same bed, and eaten every meal together in an increasingly uncomfortable quiet. To all intents and purposes, their marriage continues as lovingly as it ever did – only it is playing out in mute.

After an unexpected call tips her world on its head, Frank finds Margot collapsed at the kitchen table, an empty blister of sleeping tablets by her side, and rushes her to hospital.

With the damage unknown, she is placed in a medically induced coma. Can Frank find his words and a way to explain his withdrawal before it is too late?

A story of lies, loss and a love that is louder than words, The Silent Treatment will appeal to fans of Joanna Cannon, Rachel Joyce and Jojo Moyes.

Genre

Upmarket Commercial / Bookclub novel

UK Publication

Penguin Random House / Century, Summer 2020

US Publication

HarperCollins / William Morrow, Summer 2020

Rights Sales

German: S. Fischer Verlag
Hebrew: Tchelet
Hungarian: Alexandra
Italian: Garzanti
Lithuanian: Baltos Lankos
Norwegian: Kagge Forlag
Polish: Muza SA
Portuguese (EU): Grupo Portugal
Russian: Eksmo
Serbian: Vulkan