news:

Deborah O’Connor’s The Dangerous Kind published today

It’s publication day for Deborah O’Connor, whose gripping thriller, The Dangerous Kind, is published today by Bonnier Zaffre.

For fans of He Said/She Said and Apple Tree YardThe Dangerous Kind is a complex thriller that makes us question…

What if the people we trust are the ones we should fear?

We all recognise them. Those who sit just on the fringes of society. Who send prickles up the backs of our necks. The charmers. The liars. The manipulators. Those who have the potential to go a step too far. And then take another step.

Jessamine Gooch makes a living from these people. Each week she broadcasts a radio show looking into the past lives of convicted killers; asking if there was more that could have been done to prevent their terrible crimes.

Then one day she is approached by a woman desperate to find her missing friend, Cassie, fearing her abusive husband may have taken that final deadly step. But as Jessamine delves into the months prior to Cassie’s disappearance she fails to realise there is a dark figure closer to home, one that threatens the safety of her own family…

Set over a long, dark winter in London and perfect for fans of He Said/She Said and Apple Tree Yard, The Dangerous Kind is at once a complex and gripping thriller and a stunning portrayal of the monsters that live among us.

The Dangerous Kind is Deborah’s second novel. Her first novel was the bestseller, My Husband’s Son, which was published by Twenty7 in 2016.

The Dangerous Kind has received outstanding reviews from well-known authors ahead of its publication:

Searingly relevant, at times uncomfortably truthful,a page turner and an empathetic look at fractured modern livesGillian McAllister

“Dark, uncompromising but full of heart. It gave me goosebumps and I raced through it in a matter of days. Highly recommended” Holly Seddon

“It’s tense right from the first pitch black scene to the last page. Very cleverly employs our obsession with true crimeAmy Lloyd

Great concept, silky prose & originality oozing off every page” Eva Dolan

“Absolutely brilliant . . . a really sophisticated, smart, engaging thriller” Jo Spain

Dark, disturbing, devilishly plotted. I couldn’t turn the pages fast enoughChris Whitaker

A terrifyingly plausible novel about predators hiding in plain sight, the banality of evil and the lies we tell to comfort ourselves. Urgent, relevant and completely unputdownable. Definitely one of the thrillers of the year” Martyn Waites

Deborah O’Connor is a writer and TV producer responsible for international TV formats like Look Me In The EyeThe Day The Cash Came and The Restaurant That Makes Mistakes.

Born and bred in the North-East of England, in 2010 she completed the Faber Academy novel writing course.

She lives in London with her husband and daughter.