news:

Hannah Tovey’s The Education of Ivy Edwards published by Piatkus

Hannah Tovey’s The Education of Ivy Edwards is published today in Kindle by Piatkus.

This hilarious, moving novel about navigating adult life is perfect for fans of Dolly Alderton’s Everything I know About Love and Holly Bourne’s How Do You Like Me Now?

It follows Ivy Edwards…

Adult life is hard. Send help.

Ivy Edwards is thirty-one years old, funny, shameless, and a bit of a romantic.

She’s also currently trying not to cry in the office toilet.

Partly because she’s just run out of money for fags. A bit because her mum continues to annoy her. Definitely not because she’s just been dumped by her fiancé.

With her London life in shambles and her family miles away in the Welsh valleys, Ivy doesn’t actually feel like she belongs anywhere.

At least, she has her friends – and a bottle of vodka.

Embarking on a journey of singlehood, Ivy is about to discover that sometimes, having your life fall apart can be surprisingly fun.

Sometimes, heartbreak can be the best education . . .

This week, Hannah’s debut was featured in Heat Magazine, which called it “A brilliant debut”, and the early reviews for the novel have been phenomenal:

“Smart, bittersweet and extremely funny . . . so perceptive and REAL” Daisy Buchanan, author of How to Be a Grown Up

“Warm, witty and occasionally filthy . . . and full of heart” Nicola Mostyn, author of The Gods of Love

“The Education of Ivy Edwards is a whirlwind of a read, and proved to be a great distraction from the current climate. . . . Ivy’s mum might be my favourite character, she’s bonkers and I loved her!” Eleanor Reads Books

Hannah Tovey is from South Wales, but grew up in Hong Kong. She graduated from Faber Academy in 2018, after completing the Writing a Novel course under tutor Richard Skinner, where she finished The Education of Ivy Edwards.

Hannah lives in Bow, East London, and is currently working on a sequel of Ivy’s adventures.