Authors

Christi Daugherty

 

C. J. Daugherty was 22 when she saw her first dead body, working as a crime reporter in Texas. Although she’s now left that world, she has never lost her fascination with what it is that drives some people to do awful things as well as the kind of people who will try to stop them. Her first adult novel, The Echo Killing, will be published in 2018 by HarperCollins and St. Martin’s Press.

 

Christi also writes young adult fiction as C. J. Daugherty including international bestselling Night School series. Born in the USA, C.J. Daugherty has lived in the UK so long she considers herself British. She is well known for her books about Ireland and Paris for Frommers (Wiley) and has co-written books with her husband, the BAFTA nominated filmmaker Jack Jewers.

 

The Night School Series is an acclaimed international bestseller:

 

 No. 1 YA bestseller in France, Poland and Israel 

Half a million copies sold worldwide 

 No. 1 bestselling YA book in Germany, beating The Hunger Games

No. 2 on Spigel bestseller list 

 Third bestselling YA book in the UK 

 Translated into 22 languages 

 



 

 

A former crime reporter, Daugherty [...] nails the newsroom culture, from the humorous banter to the serious work, and shows how layoffs and cutbacks have affected the way journalists cover their community.

The Washington Post

The author of the best-selling YA “Night School” series marks her adult fiction debut with a spine-tingling, gritty mystery. Fans of Hank Phillippi Ryan and Michael Connelly will thoroughly enjoy this new voice in crime fiction.

Library Journal

I thoroughly enjoyed this gripping story. A brilliant mix of crime, thriller and suspense that kept my interest throughout. What a fabulous character Harper McClain is! I loved her guts and determination to get to the truth. I will look forward to more from Harper in the future.

Sam Carrington

An engrossing, multi-faceted mystery with snappy dialogue, a well-drawn cast of characters and a sizzling romantic subplot

Publisher's Weekly

Daugherty uses her experience as a crime reporter to create a pulse-pounding combination of mystery and suspense that hints at a welcome follow-up.

Kirkus Reviews

Hot as a Savannah summer, The Echo Killing reels the reader in with a skilful build-up of tension until you are sent hurtling towards a nerve-shredding climax. I was turning the pages with a genuinely racing heart. I can’t wait to meet Harper McLain again.

Cass Green
bestselling author of In a Cottage in a Wood

The Echo Killing had me gripped from the start. Harper McClain ranks alongside the best investigative reporters in fiction. I loved her.

Sarah Ward
author of In Bitter Chill

A taut, tightly-woven mystery set in the simmering heat of Savannah. This one kept me guessing till the very end . . . and then left me hungry for more! I can’t wait for Harper McLain’s next outing.

C.J. Tudor
author of The Chalk Man

Christi Daugherty weaves a highly entertaining story of suspense and intrigue in the mysteriously evocative setting of Savannah, Georgia.  Wrought with wonderfully alive characters and a protagonist who is both tough-minded and tender, this is a story that will have you reading late into the night.

Diane Les Becquets
author of Breaking Wild

I don't remember breathing the whole time I read The Echo Killing. Christi Daugherty has poured her own experience as a crime writer into a taut and authentic story of. A rave but damaged woman who comes upon an exact replica of her mother's murder and has to decide to trust.

Rhys Bowen

With her newspaper background, Daugherty is the perfect champion for her crime reporting protagonist in The Echo Killing. This is a thriller that's excruciatingly suspenseful, drenched in memory, and has you biting your nails as each chapter unfolds.

Laura Childs
N.Y. Times bestselling author

A smart, tough, emotionally bruising portrayal of what murder means when it's up close and personal. A terrific book. Brava.

Carolyn Hart
N.Y. Times bestselling author

THE ECHO KILLING won me over utterly, from its lush southern setting, to the determined, vulnerable Harper and her dogged search for the truth.

Ruth Ware
In a Dark Dark Wood
 

The perfect blend of suspense and romance

Sophie McKenzie