Authors

Clare Pooley

Clare Pooley graduated from Newnham College, Cambridge and spent twenty years in the heady world of advertising before becoming a full-time mum. She is the author of the hugely popular blog, Mummy was a Secret Drinker, under the pseudonym Sober Mummy and her memoir, The Sober Diaries was published by Hodder in 2017 to critical acclaim. Her blog has had over two million hits and she recently gave a TEDx talk titled Making Sober Less Shameful.

Clare’s debut novel The Authenticity Project will be published in 2020. Her fiction is, in part, inspired by the twenty years Clare spent in advertising, a world where the line between authenticity and fiction is constantly blurred. But it was also informed by her own experience of exposing the rather grubby truth about her seemingly perfect life in her memoir.

Clare lives in Fulham, London with her long-suffering husband, three children, dog and a cupboard filled with alcohol-free beer.

 



 

I loved The Authenticity Project. It has such an intriguing premise, wonderful characters and is utterly truthful about the lies that we all tell. It’s a clever, uplifting book that entertains and makes you think.

Sophie Kinsella
No. 1 bestselling author of Can You Keep a Secret?

The message is strong, urging readers to get off their smartphones and social media and live in the real, authentic world—no chain stores or brands allowed here—making friends and forming a real-life community and support network. And is that really a bad thing? An enjoyable, cozy novel that touches on tough topics.

Kirkus Reviews

Pooley maintains a quick, satisfying pace as the characters’ simple, spontaneous acts affect each other’s lives. This is a beautiful and illuminating story of self-creation.

Publisher's Weekly

Beautifully written, thought provoking and uplifting, The Authenticity Project is a warm and endearing tale about truth, friendship and the power of connection. Pooley's characters will stay with you long after you turn the final page. It was a joy to read.

Mike Gayle

The Authenticity Project cracks the facades that people present to the world and shows what happens when you're willing to share your true self. This is a story of love, of community, of found family, and of forgiveness. A beautiful book with a poignant message, perfect for our time.

Jill Santopolo
New York Times bestselling author of The Light We Lost

The Authenticity Project reads like a gorgeous box of chocolates: sweet, surprising and impossible not to love. I found myself cheering, cringing, laughing and crying as I read this book and – above all – remembering the true value of community and human connection.

Tara Conklin
New York Times bestselling author of The Last Romantics

The Authenticity Project is a rich roast of great characters, even better relationships, wonderful entanglements, and a few surprises along the way. If Monica’s Cafe were a real place, I’d stop by every day.

Laurie Frankel
New York Times bestselling author of This Is How It Always Is

Fans of Fredrick Backman and Gail Honeyman -- make room on your shelves for Clare Pooley. The Authenticity Project is a stunning debut and it left me inspired me to share more of myself with the world

Steven Rowley

A heart-warming, feel-good story about love, loss and what it means to be human. Pooley’s debut is gloriously upbeat and gorgeously readable.

Annabel Abbs

One of the best books I’ve read in a long time. Original, engaging and unforgettable.

Sarah Morgan

Insightful, timely, and utterly addictive, The Authenticity Project illuminates the importance of discovering - and honoring - our truest, most imperfect selves.

Georgia Hunter

It’s full of life’s truths, funny, poignant and ultimately uplifting. I thoroughly enjoyed it

Fanny Blake

Other authors