Authors

Mel Sherratt

 

Mel Sherratt writes gritty crime dramas, psychological suspense and fiction with a punch – or grit-lit, as she calls it. Shortlisted for the CWA (Crime Writer’s Association) Dagger in the Library Award 2014, she finds inspiration from authors such as Martina Cole, Lynda la Plante and Elizabeth Haynes. Since 2012, all nine of her crime novels have been international bestsellers. Four of her books are published by Amazon Publishing’s crime and thriller imprint, Thomas & Mercer and her Detective Eden Berrisford series is published by Bookouture.

 

Mel has now sold over one million copies, and she’s currently writing her next series which will be published by HarperCollins / Avon.

 

Mel lives in Stoke-on-Trent, with her husband and terrier, Dexter, named after the TV serial killer, and makes liberal use of her hometown as a backdrop for some of her books.

 

You can hear and see more about Mel via this Amazon video.

 ‘There are a lot of young crime writers that I’ve just met for the first time. There’s one called Mel Sherratt – she’s very interesting’
Ian Rankin, Desert Island Books

 

 ‘Sherratt is a unique voice in detective fiction.’
Mail on Sunday

 



 

 

Mel Sherratt is on outstanding form with this pacy, page-turning thriller! It had all the thrills and chills, with just the right amount of gritty realism that sets her writing apart from the crowd. Fans of Behind Closed Doors and The Girl on the Train will love it!

LJ Ross
Author of the DCI Ryan Series

A riveting psychological thriller which had me turning the pages long into the night. I highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys a dark, twisty-turny read.

Caroline Mitchell
 
 
 

Hard as nails and full of heart

David Mark

Sherratt is a unique voice in detective fiction.

Mail On Sunday

Mel Sherratt is a gifted storyteller. In Follow the Leader all of her skills are on show; the plot shifts from one terrifying crime to the next, never slowing in pace. The new DS Allie Shenton novel is the reading equivalent of riding a rollercoaster with no brakes.

Kate Rhodes

Mel’s vivid imagination really brings her characters to life.

Kerry Wilkinson

The plot races along smartly, with the victims piling up, before culminating in a series of twists that hit you like body blows.

Emlyn Rees

I enjoyed the way each character, even minor ones, was described in a way that gave them depth and believability. On finishing the book my first thought was that I hope this will be a series that runs and runs – Allie has already become one of my favourite fictional crime fighters.

Crime Reviewer

A terrifying villain – outwardly ordinary and utterly unhinged

Elizabeth Haynes

Uncompromising, powerful and very real – an important new voice

David Mark

Slick debut from a writer to watch out for

Mandasue Heller

A wonderfully observed tale of brutality, sex and raw emotion, with an ending that will leave you gasping to know more

David Jackson

Sexy, scary, thrilling: all ingredients to keep you reading way into the wee small hours. As a debut novel “Taunting the Dead” triumphs

Matt Hilton

The plot races along smartly, with the victims piling up, before culminating in a series of twists that hit you like body blows

Emlyn Rees

Gritty and atmospheric, Mel Sherratt knows all about the dangers that lurk within those mean streets of Stoke-on-Trent

Niamh O'Connor

A great début. Gritty. Sexy. And brilliantly capturing the brutality that follows betrayal and desperation

Will Carver