news:

Owen Nicholls’ debut romance novel, Love, Unscripted bought by Headline

We’re thrilled to have sold another stunning debut in the run up to next week’s Frankfurt Book Fair: Love, Unscripted by Owen Nicholls.

As announced in the Bookseller, Jess Whitlum-Cooper, Commissioning Editor at Hachette/Headline, has acquired UK & Commonwealth rights for the novel in a four-way auction as part of a two-book deal. Jess said of the debut: “Owen’s beautiful writing mixed with classic film references reminded me of the romcoms we all know and love. I fell in love with Nick’s voice as soon as I started reading and I am delighted to be publishing this clever, heartfelt love story.

Equally excited by the prospect of true love are Penguin Random House/Crown, who snapped up the US rights, as did Hoffman Und Campe in Germany, and Sperling and Kufter in Italy.

It’s​ ​2012​ ​and​ ​Nick​ ​loves​ ​Ellie.​ ​He​ ​loves​ ​her​ ​easily​ ​as​ ​much​ ​as he​ ​loves​ ​his​ ​job​ ​as​ ​a​ ​projectionist.​ ​So​ ​when​ ​she​ ​tells​ ​him​ ​she​ ​doesn’t​ ​feel​ ​the​ ​same​ ​as​ ​when they​ ​first​ ​met,​ ​his​ ​world​ ​collapses.

The​ ​fallout​ ​from​ ​Ellie’s​ ​declaration​ ​causes​ ​Nick​ ​to​ ​reminisce​ ​about​ ​their​ ​first​ ​meeting, but his memories​ are​ ​as​ ​rose-tinted​ ​as​ ​the Hollywood​ ​love​ ​stories​ ​he​ ​idolises. 

Four​ ​years​ ​later,​ and​ ​Nick​ ​is​ ​struggling​ ​to​ ​understand​ ​why​ ​Ellie​ ​is​ ​gone​ ​and​ ​why he​ ​can’t​ ​​ ​do​ ​anything​ ​about​ ​it.​ Could their love ever be the same as it was that perfect first night?

Nick is about to find out that perhaps real love is better than reel love.

Owen Nicholls is a screenwriter with a Masters in Scriptwriting from the UEA. His work has appeared in Empire and NME, and earlier this year Love, Unscripted was selected for the Escalator Scheme run by Writers’ Centre in Norwich. He said: “[The novel] was in part inspired by my own relationships in my late 20s and having a coming-of-age story of my own, just a decade later than most. I hope readers enjoy spending time with Nick and Ellie as much as I have.” 

The novel – perfect for fans of Nick Hornby  and David Nicholls  – was featured in a Guardian article earlier this week which explored the renaissance of the romcom. We’re confident it won’t be the last you hear of this fabulous book.