news:

Publication Day for Anna-Lou Weatherley’s debut thriller Black Heart

Today marks a new direction for women’s fiction author, Anna-Lou Weatherley, as her first crime-thriller Black Heart publishes with Bookouture.

A pacey, compelling read for fans of Rachel Abbott, Robert Bryndza and Karin Slaughter, Black Heart is the first in a series starring Detective Dan Riley.

‘There’s a letter on the floor covered with blood next to a heart-shaped box of chocolates. The note says: ‘My beautiful darling, I’m sorry, please forgive me.’

When the body of a man is found with his wrists slashed in a London hotel room, it appears at first to be a tragic suicide. But Detective Dan Riley suspects there is more to this case than meets the eye and the pathology report confirms his worst fears – the victim was poisoned and suddenly Dan is dealing with a murder inquiry.

Then he makes a disturbing discovery, uncovering links between the victim and a woman calling herself Goldilocks on an online dating site. Is she seeking revenge or something more?

Still grieving the devastating loss of his girlfriend and unborn child in a car accident two years ago, Dan throws everything he has into the investigation. Yet just as Dan begins to piece together the clues of this complex case, the body of a woman is found in her bed with identical wounds.

Dan is on the trail of a twisted individual who is much closer than he realises. Can he overcome his own demons and stop the killer before it’s too late?

Congratulations Anna-Lou on a fantastic debut crime-thriller, we can’t wait for more from Detective Dan Riley!