Madeleine Milburn

Founder, director
& literary agent

Madeleine founded Madeleine Milburn Ltd in 2012, and it is now a major international literary agency based in the UK. Working with a network of publishers and producers based all over the world, Madeleine represents new writers, established authors, journalists and children’s authors. With her tight-knit team, she handles all rights to every book including UK, US, international and Film & TV.

Madeleine represents authors based in the UK, US, Canada and Australia, and has a strong reputation for talent spotting writers and launching their careers with major publishers internationally. She works with all genres, and her list is entirely voice or character-driven. She has been responsible for launching the careers of top Sunday Times and New York Times bestsellers including Fiona Barton, Gail Honeyman and C.L. Taylor. Many of her authors also consistently make No.1 in digital and she represents multiple award-winning children’s authors. Gail Honeyman’s Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine was the biggest selling hardback debut in adult fiction in 2017, and shortlisted for the 2017 Costa Book Awards, and C.L. Taylor’s The Treatment was the biggest selling Young Adult debut of the year.

Actively looking for: more journalists writing fiction and memoirs, literary or reading group fiction in the vein of Donna Tartt, Tana French, Hanya Yanagihara and Maggie O’Farrell, strong female characters, a series crime character, uplifting fiction, quirky storytelling, family drama, edgy comedy reflecting on society today, young funny fiction. Tightly plotted crime, thrillers and mysteries, ghost stories, true crime, moral dilemmas, fiction that draws on multiple genres. Thought-provoking stories, emotional journeys, inspiring stories, an epic love story which will make one weep.