news:

The Book of Mysteries published today with S&S Children’s

We are thrilled that The Book of Mysteries by J.R. Wallis is out today with Simon & Schuster Children’s. This is the final thrilling instalment in the Tales from the Badlands trilogy.

Welcome to the Badlands … a hidden part of our world full of creatures which most people think exist only in fairy tales and nightmares.

Ruby is trying to change the future. Her fate is in the hands of the council as they prepare to decide once and for all if girls can be Badlanders too.

Jones is running from his past. He’s determined to help Ruby fulfil her destiny, but first he will need to shake off the vengeful ghost of Maitland, the Master he betrayed.

Then they are challenged to solve a notoriously unsolvable case from The Book of Mysteries, and Ruby and Jones think it might just be the lifeline they need. But there’s a reason no Badlander has ever returned from Great Walsingham, and the two friends will have to rely on more than magic if they want to survive…

The Tales from the Badlands trilogy is perfect for fans of Abi Elphinstone, Jonathan Stroud and J.K. Rowling. It has been highly praised since the release of the first book, The Boy with One Name in 2017, with authors such as Abi Elphinstone declaring it ‘delightfully magical and brilliantly told.’

We’re so excited to see Ruby and Jones dive into their most magical adventure yet.